INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playing audio on home stereo via Oppo  (Read 4790 times)

wayneoh

• Recent member
Playing audio on home stereo via Oppo
« on: June 16, 2013, 03:17:32 pm »

Some background ... My laptop and my home stereo are in two different rooms. The laptop is networked wirelessly with my home stereo via an Oppo BDP-95 which is capable of acting as a standalone DAC. I use the Oppo purely for audio; it is not normally connected to a TV or to any type of display monitor (nor do I own any iOS devices).

I'm new to JRiver having just installed it today on my laptop. I was hoping I'd somehow be able to use JRiver's "Media Network" feature on the laptop to select digital audio files (stored on the laptop) to play back through my home stereo; however, I haven't been able to figure out how to accomplish this. Can it even be done? If so, how would one do it?

I've tried JRiver's WebGizmo thing, and whether I "play to this location" or "play to player" the selected audio file only plays on the laptop, not through my home stereo. Yet I know that it's possible to play digital audio files on my laptop through my stereo because I can do it if I connect a monitor to the Oppo and then use the Oppo's menu structure to select the files. Unfortunately, I have no convenient place to locate a display monitor near my stereo, hence, the problem I am trying to solve. Thanks in advance for any advice.

csimon

• Citizen of the Universe

If your Oppo is a DLNA renderer then MC will be able to play music to it and control it.

There is a topic on the Wiki on DLNA and how to enable it: http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/DLNA

Basically, turn on Media Network and enable MC as a Server and Controller.