INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Keeping two libraries in sync  (Read 4049 times)

thijazi

• Recent member
Keeping two libraries in sync
« on: November 05, 2013, 12:58:12 am »

Hi,

I am new to JRiver and so far love the power of this solution. Now here is something I need help with (hopefully the answer is not too obvious :)

I have 2 PCs setup with JRiver, a desktop PC and an HTPC, I use the desktop for my daily stuff, the HTPC is in the living room serving up media, it is connected to my audio system. What I have done is:

1- Sorted out my media library on the desktop PC just the way I want it (280GB of FLAC files), took ages to ensure all the meta data is correct, album art is there, ratings, playlists, etc.

2- Copied the files to the HTPC

3- Ran JRiver on HTPC and it imported the files that I copied from the desktop PC, all well, everything in place

Now I would like to find a way to keep any changes to the desktop library in sync with the HTPC library and vice-versa. I could not find a way to do this. I recently made some changes to the meta data of some files on the desktop PC, deleted some files, etc. Then from the HTPC I tried to start a library sync using the Access Key of the desktop PC, but what happened next was the HTPC trying to copy the entire library (over again)...

Not sure how to go about this.

redchris70

• Recent member
Re: Keeping two libraries in sync
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2013, 03:41:18 am »

I'm new to MC myself so I'm quite sure other far more experienced users can offer more detailed advice.  Assuming that your PC and HTPC are networked there is no need to copy your media files to the HTPC.  Keep them on the PC and create your library as you want it and then follow the advice offered in the network wiki page to share this library with your client HTPC:

http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Media_Network