INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie here: can JRiver display movie menu on TV like Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc  (Read 4464 times)

notbananas

1) I have been trying many software to see if it can display all my movies in my library in menu format just like Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc. and with a click of the remote, show the details and then another click will start the movie. I don't want to waste my time setting up JRiver if it can't do that. I already have Serviio which works fine, but no cover art, no synopsis, etc. I have DLNA setup in my HT to connect to my PC and I'm able to watch movies from it through the Sony BR player's DLNA menu. The only problem is it only shows the movie titles, but no cover art, synopsis, etc.
I already wasted $400 and many weeks on Cinemar's "Main Lobby" which is great if you want to display the library on your tablet or phone, but it can't do it on the TV screen like Netflix.

2) I just installed JRiver and took several hours to scan my PC for all the movies I have (four 4TB drives, 16TB total) in an external eSATA tower and using one of these 4TB drives for my movies (almost full), another 4TB for TV shows, etc. I have over 550 various BR and standard DVD rips on this one drive. These movies are arranged by a folder for each movie title, the folder name being the title. Then the folder contains the actual movie (avi, mkv, mp4, etc. file types), a jpg image of the cover art and a txt file of the synopsis. After the scan was completed, I noticed an xml file in most all of the folders, but not all. It sure would have been nice if JRiver made it clear that it will add this file for each movie! The main reason is that the 4TB drive is almost full and it should have warned me that extra space on the hard disk is needed for these xml files!!!!!