INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Converting library from FLAC to ALAC  (Read 5957 times)

tngiloy

• Junior Woodchuck
Converting library from FLAC to ALAC
« on: February 09, 2014, 11:25:15 am »

Thanks to your help I have decided to start recording the rest of my cd's in ALAC, and have changed from FLAC to ALAC -----TOOLS>OPTIONS>ENCODING.  
One important question- the files recorded since changing to ALAC show m4a (not ALAC) as the file type and the files are smaller. When I googled ALAC/m4a it said that ALAC uses m4a as a container. Is this right and am I actually recording in lossless ALAC ??

Second and more important question-- How do I convert the other 400 cd's from FLAC to ALAC ?? Can I convert my entire library in one easy step ?? ;D Or do I need to do it one album at a time or one track at a time ?? :o

I am a computer amateur, so PLEASE give step by step instructions like you were talking to your old uncle.

AndrewFG

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Converting libray from FLAC to ALAC
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2014, 12:11:19 pm »

One important question- the files recorded since changing to ALAC show m4a (not ALAC) as the file type and the files are smaller. When I googled ALAC/m4a it said that ALAC uses m4a as a container. Is this right and am I actually recording in lossless ALAC ??

Yes this is correct. M4A is a container format based on the MPEG4 industry standard and can indeed contain all kinds of "boxes" for music, video and meta data. As far as music is concerned, the two most common music "boxes" are ALAC (Apple Lossless) and AAC -- without the L -- (a compressed format similar to MP3).