INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What's the best quality CD Blank? Yes I'm a dinosaur.  (Read 6379 times)

webbhq

• Recent member
What's the best quality CD Blank? Yes I'm a dinosaur.
« on: March 01, 2014, 01:44:36 pm »

OK I have been using from a stockpile of Maxell CD-R Pro but a computer technician suggested the disc could make a difference and so which brand do you experts prefer or is it a commodity?  Thanks. I'm just catching up.

Steelydanfan

• Recent member
Re: What's the best quality CD Blank? Yes I'm a dinosaur.
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2014, 04:07:59 pm »

Hi, I am fairly new to JRiver, I am ripping all of my original CD's plus a fair number of CD-R music copies that I have accumulated over the years.

I used to rip and burn CD's from a stand alone Marantz CVD recorder, it did a great job, I  just don't need it anymore since I  switched to a HD based music server.

I used blank ( always music ) CD's from Memorex, TDK, Sony, Maxell, and Kodak over the years, and they all sounded great. And they also  all wore out eventually in my 2 Sony CD mega changers under heavy use. I found no sonic differences between all of the blank CD brands.

I will only note that I always used blank CD's  that stated "music" on them, as data CD's will not play in  some CD players at all.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2014, 04:17:08 pm »

The media (CD) is the same, whether it's used to burn audio or data CD's.  Some devices won't play discs unless they have been "closed" (a burn function).  Some devices won't play data CD's.

kstuart

• Upgraded to MC22 Master using preorder discount
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2014, 04:53:53 pm »