INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upgrading Windows from XP  (Read 6536 times)

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Upgrading Windows from XP
« on: April 28, 2014, 09:06:16 am »

If you have an XP machine that is connected to any network, it is probably wise to upgrade the OS now.

http://www.engadget.com/2014/04/27/internet-explorer-security-exploit/#continued

It's probably going to get worse.

Krazykanuck

• Galactic Citizen
Re: Upgrading Windows from XP
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 02:22:31 pm »

I just wish it was a simple as upgrading the O/S.
I would also need to upgrade our ERP system, Solidworks, Gibbscam etc.
I'm looking at $400,000

I have been telling my boss for a few years it was coming but as a small business that's a lot of cash to put out to replace something that is working just fine.

JimH

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2014, 02:39:46 pm »

You could suggest that the company could disconnect from the Internet.  That might get his or her attention.

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2014, 02:47:49 pm »

I think that's the only realistic solution - machines which need to run legacy software, should not be allowed internet access.

Another thing I've seen a lot of people's IT do is upgrade XP machines to Windows 7, which seems short-sighted to me.
7 is going to have a shorter lifespan than 8, so there will be less time before having to upgrade again.

But apparently no-one listens to the IT guys when they warn that the company has to roll out upgrades before the OS is discontinued - several governments are paying Microsoft millions of dollars for extended support.
I read an article which said that the British government were proud that they managed to "save" the public millions by putting the request through as a single entity rather than each department handling it separately.