INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hard crash with Hauppage winTV  (Read 3231 times)

ferday

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Hard crash with Hauppage winTV
« on: October 29, 2014, 11:59:56 am »

i just got a hauppage winTV card, when i try and do ANYTHING with it at all in JRiver, it crashes hard.  so hard that i cannot stop the process with any sequence of events other than restart (i know that this normally means a buggy driver or something waiting for a kernel)

any suggestions?  should i be doing something with either JRiver or the TV card to at least stop this uber-crash?   i've no knowledge whatsoever about TV cards

thanks

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: HARD crash
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2014, 12:07:21 pm »

Did you install the driver?  Does it work with any software?

ferday

• MC Beta Team
Re: HARD crash
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2014, 12:23:34 pm »

Did you install the driver?  Does it work with any software?

i installed the driver from the enclosed CD, but now i've gone to the hauppage website and got the latest.

the enclosed software (hauppage winTV) has found several hundred analog, QAM, and ATSC channels and works fine to watch TV.

if i go into JRiver and open the TV dialog box from the tree, i can enter the TV options dialog.  as long as i look at it nothing happens but if i try and either: change any options, or configure the card, it immediately crashes and requires a system restart to end the crash.

for fun i un-installed the Hauppage software (leaving the drivers intact) and it still crashes.  I will see if there may be alternative drivers, but in the meantime if anyone has suggestions i would appreciate

ferday

• MC Beta Team
Re: Hard crash with Hauppage winTV
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2014, 01:25:36 pm »

and an update: