INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to RCA or XLR or Optical output to . . . ? ?  (Read 1799 times)

haphap

How to RCA or XLR or Optical output to . . . ? ?
« on: March 02, 2015, 09:07:45 pm »

Hello all,
First post and hope this is the right place and it come together correctly.  I am a novice building the concept of a music media player for my stereo setup.This is for my listening room only at this time. I would like to build a fanless pc media player, I am considering the Steacom F10 Alpha for the case, a SSD for system and Windows 8 for O/S, and JRiver, and I already have  a 3.5, 1TB WD Blue, for storage.     Have not picked a motherboard or cpu or RAM (open for all suggestions to achieve my objective)

My objective is the ability to connect to my DAC or A/V Preamp via analog RCA or XLR or even optical from the fanless pc system. Which one is preferred RCA,XLR, or Optical? ?   How can connection be achieve? ? My thinking sees a sound card with RCA outs ? ? ? But that my limited thinking.  Video is not a major concern . . . .  Music quality is.

Also any consideration for a motherboard, power supply, and any thing you can suggest will be helpful.  :) Also this system will bypass my PC but have internet access via wireless or ethernet.

Thanks

hap

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: How to RCA or XLR or Optical output to . . . ? ?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 06:58:16 am »

Welcome to the forum.

RCA is digital.  XLR is uncommon on PC's.  Optical is digital, and probably the best choice.

For hardware choices, you might read some of the other threads on this board. 

haphap

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 07:07:52 am »

thanks for the heads up info  ;)

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 07:11:03 am »