INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help with regex  (Read 3502 times)

jherbert

• World Citizen
Help with regex
« on: April 28, 2015, 03:08:34 am »

I am trying to build a regular expression that will automate renaming and moving files in a way that was used in older versions of MC.

If there is an album artist for an album, this should be used as the name of the artist subdirectory, if there is no album artist the artist subdirectory shall use the name of the first artist listed in the artists field.

- ListItem([Artist],0)\[Album])
- [Album Artist]\[Album]

both do work, but

If(IsEmpty([AlbumArtist]),ListItem([Artist],0)\[Album],[Album Artist]\[Album]

does not.What am I doing wrong?

Arindelle

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Help with regex
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 08:54:00 am »

I'm a real noob in Regex, but looks like you are missing a parenthesis somewhere ....  for the If(IsEmpty ?

BryanC

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2015, 09:47:50 am »

If(IsEmpty([Album Artist]),ListItem([Artist],0)\[Album],[Album Artist]\[Album])

I think you might want to try [Album Artist (auto)] as this function is already baked into MC. Otherwise, see the change above.

marko

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2015, 11:24:38 am »

For clarity, regex is all that gobbledy stuff that MrC could speak fluently, something to do with perl, google it to see what I mean. It's very powerful, but also quite hard to get to grips with for most of us (me included).
What we're discussing here are simply called 'expressions' within MC. A small distinction, but important when you're looking for help.

Here's a quote from August last year...
Re: isempty()...