INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Some ripped surround sound DTS-CDs are no longer playing  (Read 9370 times)

jaredw

• Recent member
Some ripped surround sound DTS-CDs are no longer playing
« on: May 23, 2015, 05:36:54 pm »

This is my first time writing in a forum, so I apologize if it takes me a little time to get the hang of this. As the subject states, some of my ripped DTS-CDs are no longer playing.  First, let me give info that seems relevant:
1. MC20 for windows ver. 20.0.103
2. Ripped via dbPowerAmp to wav
3. wav Playback Method: JRiver audio engine (using DirectShow filter)
4. Last time playback worked: Mid January 2015
5. When attempt to play a song that won't play, it is now silent for up to about 10s before stopping play

When I first ripped a DTS-CD, I experienced the problem of the static noise but that was resolved by forcing the playback method. I can still get the static back by returning the playback method to Automatic.  

I've also noticed importing irregularities that didn't exist before.  For example, I just re-imported Debussy's La Mer and one of the tracks includes a lot of tag data that the others do not (eg, Album, genre, track).  The bit rate (1411kbps) and depth (16) look good though in all cases. I also ripped Don Henley's End of the Innocence and all songs played fine except for one (Gimme What You Got).  And that one lacked a lot of the tag info.  Other examples: Sting's Nothing Like the Sun plays but the Police's Every Breath You Take: The Classics does not.

Some things I've tried that I remember:
1. Changing playback methods
2. Forcing file type to dts (based on a previous thread)
3. Ripping in JRiver

Again, I'm new to this so I don't really know how it works. But I hope someone can help with this.  Thanks!

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?