INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Version 9.0.180 - Licensing Question  (Read 874 times)

WendtCreations

• Recent member
  • nothing more to say...
Version 9.0.180 - Licensing Question
« on: September 22, 2003, 01:48:08 am »

Hello,

I hope I can express my logic adequately about this issue; due to the forced-skinning decision for version 9.1 of Media Center, I am one of those few that will, under no circumstances, update to said version.  I still have my version of 9.0.180, and I am very happy to stay with that version.  However, I have a request, which I hope JRiver will take some time to at least consider ....

I am a web developer/beta tester for the company for which I work, and as such, my system gets re-formatted on a fairly regular basis, obviously leading to me reinstalling all of my regular software.  Is there ANY way that a more permanent serial number could be created for those of us who purchased MC9 when we had no way of predicting what JRiver would do to it in future releases?  Of course, this serial would be made to work ONLY with versions 9.0.180 and lower and would NOT activate version 9.1.

The truth of the matter is that my customer relationship with JRiver has ended, but as a registered user of MC9, I would think that I would be entitled to use my paid software for as long as I wish.  For example, even today, in 2003, if you are a registered user of Photoshop version 5 (they are now on version 7) you can still install your version 5, enter your serial number, and continue using your paid software.  The licensing agreement still applies, distributing version 5 remains illegal, and the same would apply to the MC9 software, regardless of its version number.