INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC has added folders from Drive I didn't ask it to search, now have triplicates  (Read 1723 times)

Jay Fora

• Recent member

Hi, I'm new to JMRC, search wiki and forum, but didn't find solution to this. I have 3 Drives on my laptop, 'C' 'D' , and an external usb drive 'E' that I use for back up only -I never access it for anything else. I pointed JMRC Library to only watch certain folders in 'D' drive, and a couple in 'C' and it's done this correctly .But it's added all the media files from 'E', causing duplicates and triplicates in MC library. I double checked and Neither 'E' drive or any of it's sub folders are listed. What happened, and how do I fix this please? Thanks, Jay

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?

Set your auto import settings in Tools > Import.

To remove duplicates, first back up your library, then search for e: and delete the files from MC.  Use a "soft" delete (del key only) and read carefully.

Try a few before you do very many.

Jay Fora

• Recent member

Thanks for your suggestion Jim,
The problem with deleting those entries imported from drive E, one by one, is that there is over 2000 of them. So I need a shortcut. Every album has double or treble listing for each track. Also, I need to understand how to prevent MC from putting them back in.
I Did a new search on the wiki and forum using different search terms and found advice to use the smartlist function. In 'create a new smartlist' I selected 'custom' and entered what was suggested
 [=Is Missing([Filename])]=1 However what appeared in the smartlist showed me I needed to put something different in the brackets. How would I get MC to make a smart list only of tracks imported from Drive E?