INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ripping and storing files  (Read 2881 times)

silversurfer0116

Ripping and storing files
« on: August 29, 2015, 03:19:56 pm »

Hi:  I'm new to J river and computer music in general.  I started a new post because J River apparently? wouldn't let me reply to answers to my previous post.  I'm still checking J River out on the 30 day thing but so far I like what I see so maybe this is because I haven't paid up yet?  Is that right?

I ripped a CD and it automatically ripped it as an ape file.  I was able to convert this to a flac file.   Since I am currently an PC laptop user and will be until it dies probably I'm thinking I will probably automatically rip files to flac (which I think I was able to enable after I saw the ape files) for use on the laptop for playing through my home audio system.  I think I may also create an alac file to play on my iPhone (which I will also probably keep until it dies) which I use a lot in my car to play music on the great sounding car stereo.  We'll see on that as I blew it and only got 32gb of memory which seemed reasonable a couple of years ago before I got into this stuff.

* I'm a little unclear as to what is the best way to segregate my music.  Right now I want my laptop to rip and play the flac files by default.  I also want to store alac files somewhere for downloading to my iPhone and as back up to the music on my iPhone.  There was a post that went into this on one of the answers in my first post but I don't have time right now to analyze it.

* Another question I have is about the ape files.  The iPhone won't play them according to what I read.  Is there a cell phone that will play them and if so what is the quality of the playback.  I understand ape is lossless so I'm curious how it stacks up next to uncompressed flac and alac files.