INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Evaluating JRVR vs MadVR  (Read 734 times)

danbez

• Recent member
Evaluating JRVR vs MadVR
« on: May 30, 2022, 11:50:48 am »

Hello, I spent a few hours evaluating JRVR as a potential replacement for my current MadVR scenario. While I am happy with MadVR, I want to move on to a solution that is more active developed and remains focused on HTPC scenarios.

Main Scenarios: Achieve best possible quality image on my projector - JVC RS500. I only have 1:1 rips of Blu-Rays and UHD. No web downloads, DVD, 720p quality goals.

a. State of art upscaling from Blu-Ray rips to 4K. So far I like what I saw from JRVR and based on initial tests I would say it's on par with MadVR.
b. Best in class tone mapping to SDR, while keeping BT.2020 color space.

So far I have encountered two issues with JRVR - they may be user errors since I am still learning - but I would like the input from the experts here:

1. How can I setup JRiver to output full RGB? I always had full RGB across the chain - NVidia, MadVR, Projector. But with JRiver, my projector is receiving limited RGB. and worse, because I must leave NVidia as Full RGB (to avoid extra compression), my projector wrongly detects it as Full. I have to change the projector settings from Auto to Limited, which messes up with my other inputs. MadVR allows me to specify how I want to output as part of its settings.