INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA  (Read 522 times)

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13375
JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« on: February 12, 2024, 05:12:42 pm »

Changes: Added a setting to enable replay gain to the device zone.
Logged

This2ShallPass

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • "I picked a helluva day to install MC!"
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2024, 07:51:26 pm »

Can someone translate this down one level of technical-ese for me please?  :D
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71023
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2024, 12:00:40 am »

Wiki or Google?   Replay Gain is volume leveling. Files must be analysed first.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13375
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2024, 08:51:56 am »

Wiki or Google?   Replay Gain is volume leveling. Files must be analysed first.
And if you look on your MC server tags for your audio files you will be able to see if they have replay gain values filled in.
If they do and some files are louder than others because of the way they were recorded or mastered, turning on this feature will even out the volume on the playback device, in this case the iDevice that you are using JRemote on.

For other zones, like the player zone on the MC server, the equivalent option is in MC's DSP studio.
Logged

amsco15

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2024, 08:59:13 am »

Gonna ask for a time left in the playing now queue feature one more time.

Thanks!
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 771
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2024, 03:55:46 pm »

I am not sure if it is in JRemote or not, but is there a way to turn on/off subtitles for video when playing locally to the device?  I can't seem to find it.  If on the server (or a PC client) I watched the video with subtitles enabled, then on JRemote, watching the same video, subtitles are working.

Can't seem to find in JRemote where the toggle is for local playback.

Thanks!
Logged
TV: LG OLED C1 83"
3D: LG OLED C6 65" (two) - madVR MVC->SBS
3D: Valve Index (using Media Center+MadVR) + Virtual Home Theater (Steam)
HTPC: Core i7, Win11, nVidia 3090RTX
Storage: 500TB Snapraid via SMB to Ubuntu 18 LTS server
Audio: exaSound e68 Multichannel USB DAC, Sonus Faber Speakers, REL Subx2
Video: HDMI 2.1/4K@120Hz, JRVR (2D), MadVR (3D), 7.1 Channel Audio into AMPs: Conrad Johnson 2/5 Channel Amps, Marantz av8805A PreAmp
Cables: Shotgun Interconnects, AudioQuest Cinnamon 48GB HDMI cables

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13375
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2024, 08:39:29 am »

I am not sure if it is in JRemote or not, but is there a way to turn on/off subtitles for video when playing locally to the device?  I can't seem to find it.  If on the server (or a PC client) I watched the video with subtitles enabled, then on JRemote, watching the same video, subtitles are working.

Can't seem to find in JRemote where the toggle is for local playback.

Thanks!
It may depend on if they are embedded or separate files. At any rate go on the MC server and play the video to see if they are enabled in the library for that item. If so, turn them off there and try in JRemote again.
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 771
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2024, 12:34:32 pm »

it's more of a question as to whether there is an option in JRemote to toggle subtitles when playing back on the device.

I can toggle on/off from the server, and JRemote will follow that configuration.  What I am asking is whether or not there is a toggle in JRemote itself

Logged
TV: LG OLED C1 83"
3D: LG OLED C6 65" (two) - madVR MVC->SBS
3D: Valve Index (using Media Center+MadVR) + Virtual Home Theater (Steam)
HTPC: Core i7, Win11, nVidia 3090RTX
Storage: 500TB Snapraid via SMB to Ubuntu 18 LTS server
Audio: exaSound e68 Multichannel USB DAC, Sonus Faber Speakers, REL Subx2
Video: HDMI 2.1/4K@120Hz, JRVR (2D), MadVR (3D), 7.1 Channel Audio into AMPs: Conrad Johnson 2/5 Channel Amps, Marantz av8805A PreAmp
Cables: Shotgun Interconnects, AudioQuest Cinnamon 48GB HDMI cables

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13375
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2024, 12:50:15 pm »

it's more of a question as to whether there is an option in JRemote to toggle subtitles when playing back on the device.

I can toggle on/off from the server, and JRemote will follow that configuration.  What I am asking is whether or not there is a toggle in JRemote itself
No.
I'm not sure if could be added either since the device zone isn't a real zone.
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 771
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2024, 04:18:19 pm »

I found it: with video files that contain subtitles (e.g. as a separate track), there is an option to toggle subtitles during playback in JRemote.

For much of my media, it's all particles pointing to .mpls files.  In those cases, the subtitle toggle is not available.  Saves a TON if disk  space since I do full backups and then use particles to point to eg individual episodes.

--

Another question - does JRemote support mp4/HVEC encoding?  I have several files of that container and codec, and while audio plays fine, the video just shows the Apple Quicktime logo centered and on a black screen.

this is for local playback as well.

Thanks

Logged
TV: LG OLED C1 83"
3D: LG OLED C6 65" (two) - madVR MVC->SBS
3D: Valve Index (using Media Center+MadVR) + Virtual Home Theater (Steam)
HTPC: Core i7, Win11, nVidia 3090RTX
Storage: 500TB Snapraid via SMB to Ubuntu 18 LTS server
Audio: exaSound e68 Multichannel USB DAC, Sonus Faber Speakers, REL Subx2
Video: HDMI 2.1/4K@120Hz, JRVR (2D), MadVR (3D), 7.1 Channel Audio into AMPs: Conrad Johnson 2/5 Channel Amps, Marantz av8805A PreAmp
Cables: Shotgun Interconnects, AudioQuest Cinnamon 48GB HDMI cables

gulp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2024, 04:32:01 am »

Can you guys tell me why there are no major upgrades done to JRemote (as for MC) and just bugs fixed over years (perceived)?

I’m sure, my personal wishes (5 star and list choice custom fields, change option for DLNA controller options) are some of what folks would have…
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71023
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2024, 06:20:43 am »

Bob has done a lot of work on JRemote.  The fixes were important. 

No major changes are planned.
Logged

gulp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2024, 06:38:50 am »

Yes, sorry, I didn’t want to be negative about the work put into the fixes!
The question was more, why are no major feature extensions even planned?

As everyone nowadays in my understanding uses a tablet to control his streaming (instead of sitting at a PC to do so), I’m wondering how much MC is extended and how little JRemote.
Logged

shAf

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2024, 08:53:29 am »

Is there any possibility for sorting album by date, instead of alphabetical?
Logged
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland

gulp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2024, 08:58:42 am »

You can define this in your JRemote views definition when building custom views.
Logged

shAf

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2024, 09:16:37 am »

You can define this in your JRemote views definition when building custom views.

I see no such capability… least wise, with JRemote (iOS). That is, I do see in setup the capability for it to show album art by default, but not for sorting
Logged
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland

shAf

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2024, 09:24:58 am »

Is there a possibility to restart the media server without restarting the computer?  That is, your implementation of restarting the computer does not restart the server, even if it’s configured to automatically do so.

I am able to simply restart the computer locally that will automatically start the server, but JRemote’s remote restart is somehow different in that nothing restarts automatically without first logging in.

Cheers from The Avalon
Logged
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71023
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2024, 09:28:05 am »

As everyone nowadays in my understanding uses a tablet to control his streaming (instead of sitting at a PC to do so) ...
I don't think you can make that assumption.
Logged

shAf

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
Re: JRemote (iOS) 3.43 BETA
« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2024, 09:56:18 am »

I don't think you can make that assumption.

Regarding using tablets for JRemote, my iPad mini doesn’t allow for sorting capabilities either.

At least my iOS devices will show the date along with the album’s track list, but JRemote2 (Android) does not. In fact, the Android version provides no way to determine the date unless you show the metadata while actually playing…

Edit… I just like to play albums that I’ve chosen relative to the artist’s evolution…
Logged
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland
Pages: [1]   Go Up