INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]  (Read 2838 times)

mindblanking

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« on: August 09, 2014, 11:00:01 am »

Looked around but can't find the answer... I just purchased the upgrade and saved file... When I clicked on it it said application not found?  Why would that be?  thanks!
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 11:03:06 am »

Do you have the latest version of MC19 installed?
Logged

mindblanking

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 12:38:55 pm »

Do you have the latest version of MC19 installed?

Yes... I believe so.  I use it every day.  What I received when I downloaded was mediacenter20 windows262003-1.mjr  but all it was was a notepad thing.
Logged

mindblanking

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2014, 12:45:08 pm »

Do you have the latest version of MC19 installed?

Okay.. figured out the problem.  You were right.  I didn't have the latest version installed... After I downloaded it I then reclicked the registration key and it worked.  thanks!

Logged

mindblanking

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2014, 01:14:29 pm »

Do you have the latest version of MC19 installed?

I'm now trying to download the MC20 software on my second computer but don't seem able to do it.  What am I missing?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2014, 01:19:54 pm »

Please read the first post.  Install MC19 and use the MC20 license to register it.
Logged

edladner

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • The diet worked
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2014, 04:17:12 pm »

I tried to upgrade today, it keeps saying my info is wrong.  I can be pretty dense at times but I can't see any mistakes.  I don't want to miss the early upgrade, I always go early.  I never had this trouble before.
Logged

Sky King

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2014, 02:34:16 am »

The earliest builds will be very similar to MC19.


I'm not sure what to make of that statement but it makes me think that early builds of MC20 be a rebadged MC19 with a few bug fixes thrown in without any real enhancements that would be worthy of a major software release?  I am hoping that a change log will be included to point out differences between the two major releases.

In any event, I paid my money and will await the release event.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2014, 06:46:12 am »

This should help explain the process:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=81987.0
Logged

Sky King

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2014, 01:15:14 pm »

This should help explain the process:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=81987.0

That helps.  In the part of the government I worked in we called it spiral development.  Thank you.
Logged

Georgeh

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #10 on: August 11, 2014, 04:04:53 pm »

I purchase the upgrade to Media Center 20And according to the Post it's not available yet so I'm wondering if this will upgrade automatically when it's available.

Thank you
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2014, 05:31:18 pm »

We'll announce it here on this board when it's available (a few weeks).  Just download and install it.
Logged

born2run

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2014, 05:06:20 pm »

We'll announce it here on this board when it's available (a few weeks).  Just download and install it.

To quote Tom Petty "The waiting is the hardest part"
Logged

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20056
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2014, 09:42:59 pm »

To quote Tom Petty "The waiting is the hardest part"

I thought that was Heinz ketchup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uoLoyg3JKRQ
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
https://centercitybbs.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

mindblanking

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2014, 09:19:08 am »

Please read the first post.  Install MC19 and use the MC20 license to register it.

I already have MC19 on the second computer and have the registration key from the download to my first computer.  Problem is "reregistering" the second computer.  But maybe the answer is, when MC20 is ready, to download it to the second computer and use the key provided, right?
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #15 on: August 17, 2014, 09:35:48 am »

I already have MC19 on the second computer and have the registration key from the download to my first computer.  Problem is "reregistering" the second computer.  But maybe the answer is, when MC20 is ready, to download it to the second computer and use the key provided, right?
Not really they should both register now (under 19 of course). Take the Install Key which registered the first PC and copy it over to the second. Clique on it and it should license the 2nd PC. If this does not work the file (believe it has an mjr extension??), is outdated and you have to download another one.

If both computers are now already registered under 19, you might have to download again a file for 20 (I believe each Install Key lasts 2 weeks), depending on when version20 is made available. No need to do anything until then if that is the case.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2014, 06:40:00 pm »

We hope to have a build available this Friday, August 22.  Here's the current status:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=90659.msg626646#msg626646
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2014, 03:40:02 pm »

The first build was just posted:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?board=38.0

Remember, this is just a start.  We're at build 10.
Logged

modulok

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2014, 06:34:32 am »

hey there,
have 19.0.146 version installed. then bought update to JR20 through paypal, downloaded and installed the registration-file, this was also confirmed by a little pop-up-box, but JR still tells me I am on 19.0.146.
was expecting to see a 20 there. isnt the release there yet, thus, coming later? or what went wrong?

thanks in advance!
marc
Logged

6233638

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5353
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2014, 06:58:15 am »

You downloaded the registration file, but not the program itself.
 
Here is the most recent version.
 
 
Perhaps they should push out an update for MC19 that will automatically update to MC20 if a license is installed, to simplify this process.
Logged

tiggerkater

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #20 on: September 16, 2014, 03:22:49 am »

Quote
Perhaps they should push out an update for MC19 that will automatically update to MC20 if a license is installed, to simplify this process.

if this would be technically possible, this would be indeed a great thing.

kind regards, tiggerkater
Logged

christoph

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #21 on: September 16, 2014, 10:05:03 am »

Hello

I just bought the upgrade from MC10 to MC20 and i have a question.

Do i have to uninstall MC19 before installing MC20 or can/should I install MC20 "over" MC19?

Thanks in advance
Christoph
Logged

kensn

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #22 on: September 16, 2014, 10:16:09 am »

Install 20, it will pick up your settings and library from 19. They can coexist.

Ken
Logged
If(IsEmpty([Coffee Cup]), Coffee, Drink)

christoph

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2014, 10:18:50 am »

Hi Ken

Thanks for your reply.

Does it make sense to have both installations simultaneously?


Cheers, Christoph
Logged

kensn

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Where is MC20? [Old thread]
« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2014, 10:51:22 am »

You can uninstall 19 when you feel comfortable with 20. Just don't unistall 19 before installing 20, unless you make a library backup of 19 to restore in 20, or you will lose any custom settings and will have to rebuild your library.

Ken
Logged
If(IsEmpty([Coffee Cup]), Coffee, Drink)
Pages: [1]   Go Up