INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: WMA Files not playing  (Read 5914 times)

Khatru

WMA Files not playing
« on: July 30, 2015, 12:10:56 pm »

I've been using JRiver for several years now and recently bought a new computer.  I used Windows easy-transfer to move all my media from the old pc to the new one. I reinstalled JRiver and, while all the albums, songs and artwork show up just fine, most of my CD's that were recorded with the WMA format will no longer play.  I jet an error message from the JRiver player that says: "Playback Problem ? Something went wrong with playback".

I've searched Google (and these boards) with no luck.  I own all the CD's effected by this, but I really do not want to spend hrs and hrs reinstalling.

I've even tried a few "WMA-to-MP3" converters and they haven't worked.

Has anyone encountered (and solved) this issue?  Your help would be greatly appreciated!

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: WMA Files not playing
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2015, 08:46:41 pm »

Can you play those WMA files with another player?  Like windows media player or something?

Do you have the old computer still?  Do the affected files still play on the old computer?  It might be a good test to copy several files from the old computer onto a thumb drive or something and then copy them onto the new computer in a different directory.  I suppose it's possible the files were corrupted during transfer.  I'm not familiar with windows easy transfer, so I'm just speculating on possibilities.

Good luck,

Brian.

Khatru

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 08:18:28 pm »

Thanks Brian -

The old PC still plays all the files.  The new PC only plays the MP3's.

I deleted the whole "easy transfer" file and started over - this time doing a direct PC-to-PC transfer over my home network.