INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: PS4 losing MC DLNA connection  (Read 4073 times)

Gronkmeister

PS4 losing MC DLNA connection
« on: March 29, 2016, 02:04:48 am »

Hi All,

I'm new to using JRiver MC and so far everything has been working amazingly well!  However, I'm running into an issue with MC's DLNA server streaming to my PS4.  There doesn't seem to be much here on the forums already about this issue, but if I'm missing something obvious, just let me know.

Anyway, the issue is basically that whenever I wake the PS4 from rest mode, or restart it, it loses connection to the DLNA server.  No matter how long I wait, the DLNA server will never re-appear in the list of servers on the PS4 Media Player app.  I thought I might be able to force a refresh using JRemote from my phone, but no luck there either.

I've found a crappy workaround by going to Media Network options on the MC server machine, and usually just hitting "Options" then "Okay".  This seems to "refresh" the server and then on PS4's Media Player, my DLNA server appears.  However, this is actually a really crappy workaround for me, as I have to open up my laptop, connect to the server machine (and old Macbook Pro) via VNC, and "refresh" the server manually each time.  I've confirmed that the Media Server machine is not going to sleep (running SleepLess), as I can play/stream media from it to other devices on my network (and over the internet).  It's only the PS4 that loses connection.

I've tried messing around with the DLNA server's settings, but nothing seems to keep the connection when the PS4 wakes up.  I've tried the PS3 settings, as well as a Generic DLNA setting (the Generic actually works better for most of my media).  I'm guessing the fault is with the crappy PS4 Media Player app, but I thought there might be a solution anyway...