INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Streaming performance outside the home  (Read 999 times)

KeekUras

• Recent member
Streaming performance outside the home
« on: August 11, 2022, 03:33:00 pm »

Hey there! Here's a little info on my setup:

Home:
Shiomax JRiver 29 Docker
Firewalla Gold firewall
AT&T 1GB fiber service

Work
500M dedicated fiber

I am pretty well versed in networking, as that's what I do for a living. However, I can't seem to get MC to stream consistently outside my home. I've used Airsonic with D-Sub for a player for quite some time and have zero issues with it streaming to my phone or to my office over Wi-Fi, 4G or wired connections. I came back to JRiver again because I'd really like one app for music period, whether I'm at home or on the go, plus for sound quality playback, nothing come close except Roon, IMO. I think I've tried just about every media server from Twonky to Plex for managing music and all have lacked in one way or another, so I end up managing multiple copies of the same playlists in different apps, which gets really old.

But anyway, streaming with MC outside my home, I'm lucky to get 3-5 songs to play before a problem occurs. I'm using Media Center 29 at work for my player and I constantly run into "Something went wrong with playback". I have to try once or twice to get it to start playing again. This is over a 1GB wired LAN connection.

On my cellphone, I've tried JRiver for Android, Gizmo and M04Media and they all perform about the same, unless I'm on my home Wi-Fi, then it works great. I've tried all the conversion settings and I can't really seem to get any consistent performance.

On my Firewalla, I have uPNP enabled and I have 52101, 52100 & 52199 forwarded. Any thing else you folks might recommend I look into?

Thanks,
K

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?