Devices > JRiver Id -- Hardware by JRiver

POLL: What's the impact of Intel's Viiv?

<< < (2/4) > >>

Rob L:
Hm, well, apparently, I'm the only one so far who has used it.

I have a Sony Vaio XL-100, so I've had a Viiv PC for about a year now.
And I don't get it. I still don't actually know what it's giving me!

I do get some nice video clips that explain it to me. Apparently it's about media and stuff. I hadn't realised I was part of an elite. Finally :-)

benn600:
I think Intel didn't realize it when they released Viiv but Media Center obsoleted Viiv a while ago.

Wile E. One:
I sell computers for a living, and I can say that of the several hundred computers I've sold over the last year or so since Intel released their Viiv technology, NOT ONE single person has ever bought the computer because of Viiv. Actually, AMD have faired about as well with their AMD LIVE... so it seems as if both are equally irrelevant in most people's lives.

glynor:
I've read some articles about how AMD's Live is actually doing a slight bit better than VIIV, as far as manufacturer support.

Both initiatives seemed to me to be little about actual product features, and more about "platforming" (ala-Centrino) and marketing gimmicks.  They both used all off the shelf technologies that could have been assembled easily before and after Intel decided to give it a fancy marketing name.

InflatableMouse: