INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FLAC Encoding Problems on VISTA -- anyone else?  (Read 3607 times)

EvilTed

FLAC Encoding Problems on VISTA -- anyone else?
« on: June 27, 2007, 10:40:51 am »

Hi,

I'm new to MC12, so please bear with me...

I like the interface and the "instant RIP" on a CD insert, however, all the music I have ripped so far is full of audible glitches.

I'm using the Enc_FLAC-V2.2.2 plug-in from Source Forge.

Is there a couple of settings I need to tweak to get rid of this?

Cheers

ET

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: FLAC Encoding Problems :(
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 10:43:35 am »

Try ripping to APE to make sure it's the codec that matters.

scthom

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2007, 10:13:21 pm »

Agreed, that sounds like scratched CD's.  Does the rip log give you any indication as to the quality of the rip (try secure rip if you're not already)?

mcmCPH

• Recent member
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2007, 01:45:06 am »

I'm also having FLAC encoding problems.

When I rip using FLAC on Vista I also get noise that sounds like a dirty record - but AFAICT only on some tracks.  Also seek within a track doesn’t seem to always work right (I can't get it to dependably fail). 

Have you testing FLAC encoding/decoding on Vista?  I’m using FLAC Encoder 2.2.2 and FLAC Input Plugin 2.4.0.

Thanks - Michael

JimH

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2007, 06:55:09 am »

Mr ChriZ

• :-D
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2007, 07:27:31 am »

Might be worth trying some of the encoded flac files on
an XP box if you've got one, to see if the problem lies
with the encoding or decoding.

mcmCPH

• Recent member
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2007, 01:56:47 pm »