INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fullsceen from command line  (Read 2486 times)

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Fullsceen from command line
« on: July 23, 2011, 02:02:15 pm »

I'm trying run MC16 from the commands line and have video displayed fullscreen.  Every switch I've tried from the wiki command line doesn't seem to work.  Any help/ideas?  Thanks
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 04:12:16 pm »

Have you tried:

   mc16.exe /mode fullscreen
   mc16.exe /play full_path_to_movie

You can sequence the commands together by separating with && but make sure you have no spaces after a filename; MC does not appear to strip trailing spaces.  So use either of :

mc16.exe /mode fullscreen&&mc16.exe /play full_path_to_movie
mc16.exe /play full_path_to_movie&&mc16.exe /mode fullscreen
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2011, 05:04:46 pm »

</player>
   <player name="JRiver" type="ExternalPlayer" audio="false" video="true">
     <filename>C:\Windows\System32\MC16.exe</filename>
     <args>/mode fullscreen</args>
     <hidexbmc>false</hidexbmc>
     <hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
     <warpcursor>none</warpcursor>
   </player>
</players>

I use this in an xml file to launch the player.  Without any args, the file plays, but, not fullscreen.  Any args just sends the screen to Display View without the file playing.  I think my problem is telling MC what file to play.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2011, 05:10:22 pm »

Try it first via cmd.exe to see if it does work.

MC is finicky about the exact syntax, and trailing whitespace can be an issue.

I've confirmed the above commands work.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2011, 05:34:06 pm »

Thanks for the help.  Even from cmd.exe, the results are the same.  I can get it to play, but, not fullscreen. ?
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2011, 05:37:36 pm »

No problem - let's see if we can figure out what's going on.

What mode is it playing in?

If you issue the command:

   mc16.exe /mode standard

what happens?  And then afterwards

   mc16.exe /mode fullscreen

what happens?
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2011, 09:12:16 pm »

When the movie doesn't play, I'm in Display View.  When I select a movie to play in XBMC, it goes to Display View, but, the movie doesn't play.  If I use /play in args, the movie plays, not in full screen.  I hope I'm explaining this ok.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2011, 10:06:33 pm »

Let's ignore XMBC, as we can't control exactly what it is doing.

Once you get things working correctly via cmd.exe, then you can take those commands and see about getting them to work when launched via XMBC.  In other words, remove the extra source of problems, and get to the core of how the command line commands work.  Once you have these figured out, and are confident you can get the movie playing, then you can try using other launchers.

It seems like we're chasing two problems here: 1) the movie does *not* play.  2) the movie plays in display mode, but display mode is not fullscreen.

Display mode can be full screen (maximized), or windowed.  Is it that you're seeing a windowed Display mode, and not a maximized Display mode?

Perhaps you can share exactly what commands via cmd.exe you execute and explain the results.  As mentioned, the commands given in the first response *do* work.  If they are not working for you, we need to see exactly what might be going wrong.  Unfortunately, "the movie doesn't play" does not get us any closer.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2011, 07:00:36 am »

OK, fair enough.  Let's see if I can get this right.

No problem - let's see if we can figure out what's going on.

What mode is it playing in?

If you issue the command:

   mc16.exe /mode standard

what happens?  And then afterwards

   mc16.exe /mode fullscreen

what happens?

Both of the above commands take me to the Display view.

mc16.exe /mode standard D:\mkv\Unknown\Unknown.mkv takes me to a windowed view playing the movie.

mc16.exe /mode fullscreen D:\mkv\Unknown\Unknown.mkv takes me to the Display View screen.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2011, 11:56:30 am »

And you can add the command:

   mc16.exe /mcc 10027

to Maximize a non-maximized window.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2011, 01:30:14 pm »

Thanks again for all of your help!  But, I just can't get anything to play full screen from the command line.  I tried all of your suggestions.  Maybe I'll just stick with TMT5.  At least I know that works.  :( :'(
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71618
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2011, 01:43:16 pm »

Try changing the options under Tools/Options/General/Behavior.
Logged

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2011, 01:50:28 pm »

Man oh man.  That was just way too easy!!  Another satisfied customer!  Thanks very much!!! :)
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71618
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2011, 01:57:21 pm »

Good.  And thanks to MrC for all the help.
Logged

bobrap

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2011, 02:12:28 pm »

Absolutely...Thanks again!
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Fullsceen from command line
« Reply #15 on: July 24, 2011, 02:37:29 pm »

That's good news.

I don't understand why it works for me, given the commands I gave.  I have the :

  Jump to windowed display mode when playback is started externally

option set, and this command:

   mc16.exe /mode fullscreen&&mc16.exe /play e:\Movies\Clouds.mp4

plays in fullscreen mode.

Anyway, glad you have it working.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.
Pages: [1]   Go Up