INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What's in control?  (Read 3261 times)

duffyfs

• Recent member
What's in control?
« on: February 22, 2014, 01:35:43 pm »

I'm new to all this, so excuse my lack of knowledge. I've used the "search" function on this forum, and other A/V forums I'm a member on, and gained much wisdom about all this digital stuff. However, I'm in the dark about which piece of equipment, or software, in my system is suppose to be in control. Most of my gear is "old" by what I read on the forum, but then so am I and like it I still get the job done. Anyway, here's the links in the chain. I have my music collection ripped to .flac on a P4 box running XP SP3; the files are on a separate hard drive and I keep a backup on an external one. Windows is the first link in the chain with its volume and speaker controls (? DAC). Next, I have an Audigy 2 Plat. sound card which has a mess of controls and from what I read is a DAC. From it I run analogue outs to a Logitech z680 5.1 speaker set which has a control pod that also has controls and I think its' own DAC. Then, I now use JRiver as my player, and for computer audio, it works fine, but i think it could work better if it wasn't tripping over what comes before it. It gets more complicated. The reason I purchased JRiver Media Player was to use it with an Oppo 103D I plan to purchase (more contols and DACs) going into a Yamaha RX-V1000( more controls and DACs) and my Pioneer 1150HD tv( even more controls and DACs). In my way of thinking there's a lot of digital to analogue to digital to.....going on. Could I get some help?  Now I have to go make myself blind reading up on DLNA...Thanks  Andy

glynor

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: What's in control?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2014, 02:17:20 pm »