INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Theater View Performance  (Read 1968 times)

Metal Man

Theater View Performance
« on: July 27, 2015, 01:43:36 am »

I am a first time user of JRiver Media Center and I am currently using the free trial of version 20.0.131.  I have been using Windows Media Center for the past 6 years, and although I've never been completely satisfied with it, I haven't been able to find anything better so far.  So that brings me to trying out JRiver.  There are some things I like better about JRiver already, but I have also run into a few problems.

Regarding my setup, when I am logged into my HTPC locally, I am only interested in the Theater View of JRiver.  I don't typically keep a keyboard & mouse connected to my HTPC, nor do I plan to.  My goal is to operate the HTPC entirely by IR remote control.  Any sort of library management is performed remotely.

Having said this, I have run into some performance issues with the Theater View.  So far, in the options under General -> Video Card, I have set Hardware accelerated graphics to Low quality.  This made a pretty big improvement, but it is still just a little bit sluggish.  Basically, every time I press a button, there is a delay as it attempts to paint the transitions.  Meanwhile, it appears that 1 of my CPU cores is maxed out continuously.  I have also noticed some audio stuttering issues, which I would assume is the result of high CPU usage.  The high CPU usage only occurs in Theater View, not in Standard View.  Are there any other settings I can change that might help?  I would gladly disable any unnecessary flashiness like menu animations if I could find an option for it. 

My system:
Windows XP Media Center Edition 2002 Version Service Pack 3
AMD Athlon 4850e 2.5 GHz dual core CPU
4GB RAM
Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM hard drive (for OS/apps)