INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions  (Read 1651 times)

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« on: February 27, 2024, 09:03:19 am »

MC32 is now available.

If you're upgrading from a previous version, please read these instructions
https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,137399.0.html

Download files will be found first on the MC32 boards here.  They are also available on the Download Page.

You can retrieve your license here:  https://rover.jriver.com/cgi-bin/restore.cgi

Any library and data from a previous version will be found and used by the new version.  If necessary, you can restore a backup:  https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Library_Backup

Keep your prior version installed until you're happy with the new version.  Then uninstall the old one.

Please post any questions here.

Logged

paulo_05

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2024, 02:20:35 pm »

I'm unable to install MC32. It goes to the  screen: "Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?" I click yes and nothing happens.

I deleted all the installtation temp files, but got the same result                                                                   
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2024, 02:44:12 pm »

Update Windows Defender.
Logged

Not Me

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2024, 06:25:23 pm »

I have installed the current Linux version of MC32 but it will not let me paste in my license number, the menu is grayed out and ctrl C does not work. I tried typing it in (way too much work for a 75 year old guy) but that did not work either.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2024, 06:35:17 pm »

Ctrl-v is paste.

When typing, watch out for the subtle differences.

0 and O are number and letter, respectively.

1 and l are number and letter.

75 is a young guy.
Logged

alfredmjNZ

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2024, 02:59:29 pm »

Updating Windows defender does not always work.  You need to open up detail (when big blue "STOP" box pops up) and select details.  Then scroll down and select "Run Anyway".
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7357
  • The color of Spring...
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #6 on: February 29, 2024, 07:27:13 am »

That's a Windows SmartScreen prompt. It happens with a lot of apps, at least until the app has been downloaded/used enough times for MS to start trusting it.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 23.10 Mantic Minotaur 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | Topping D50s DAC | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers

XJ

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2024, 09:07:10 am »

I'm unable to install MC 32. I've purchased the Master License and got the Registration via Mail. I downloaded MC 32 and when i'm starting the installation as a portable version the assistant says "the installation wizard can only run a portable installation if you have a license". After clicking "OK" it says "the installation wizard must be terminated due to a critical error, it is recommended to restart the computer and run the setup again. if the error persists, uninstall and reinstall". Actually im running MC 28.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2024, 09:29:32 am »

You have to do a normal install first and license it.  Then you can do the portable install.
Logged

XJ

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2024, 12:08:39 pm »

Got it!  Now it works, thx for the fast reaction! :-)
Logged

joetiii

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2024, 07:02:23 am »

After I upgraded to MC32 and restored my MC28 backup, I no longer have the DLNA servers with their corresponding audio preferences, ie output format and equalizer settings. How do I retrieve those?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2024, 07:26:15 am »

Restore your backup again and this time restore your settings.
Logged

zkat2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2024, 10:36:25 pm »

Hi, Newbie here. 
I've had MC29 on two machines for a while. I recently upgraded one to MC32 without issues.  For my laptop, I just can't get MC32 to install. 
It pops up an Information box saying "You are using Media Center 30 Windows to install a license for a different version.  Please download and and install the version that matches your license and then try again."
I did restore MC29 several times trying to get the upgrade to work.  I've never used MC30.  Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks in advance for the assistance.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2024, 06:32:46 am »


I've had MC29 on two machines for a while. I recently upgraded one to MC32 without issues.  For my laptop, I just can't get MC32 to install.
 
It pops up an Information box saying "You are using Media Center 30 Windows to install a license for a different version.  Please download and and install the version that matches your license and then try again."
You must download and install MC32 first, then restore your MC32 license.  The error message is correct.
Logged

zkat2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2024, 01:18:52 pm »

You must download and install MC32 first, then restore your MC32 license.  The error message is correct.

I'm sorry but I don't understand.  The laptop has MC 29.  When I download MediaCenter320020-64.exe and try to execute it, I get Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file.
When I execute MediaCenter32Windows-601190.mjr  I get the "Your are using Media Center 30 Windows to install.....
I've never used MC30 and have only downloaded MC 32 from your site.

Why won't it allow me to install MC32?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2024, 02:26:06 pm »

I'm sorry but I don't understand.  The laptop has MC 29.  When I download MediaCenter320020-64.exe and try to execute it, I get Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file.
Try the 32 bit version of MC.
Quote
When I execute MediaCenter32Windows-601190.mjr  I get the "Your are using Media Center 30 Windows to install.....
I've never used MC30 and have only downloaded MC 32 from your site.
If you can't install MC32, the Install Key (mjr file) won't work.  It also only works for 14 days.  Restore your license after that.  You can read the wiki topic called Restoring a License.

Make sure Windows Defender is up to data and dont use any other antivirus.
Logged

zkat2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2024, 05:07:50 pm »

Try the 32 bit version of MC.If you can't install MC32, the Install Key (mjr file) won't work.  It also only works for 14 days.  Restore your license after that.  You can read the wiki topic called Restoring a License.

Make sure Windows Defender is up to data and dont use any other antivirus.

This is a laptop (Win10) that has almost nothing but MC29 installed on it.  I've turned off Defender.  I bought the 64 bit Windows MC32 upgrade on my desktop and was able to download and install MC32.   To upgrade MC29 to 32 on my laptop do I need to buy another upgrade?  Any download of the 32 bit or 64 bit MC32.exe file refuses to run stating I don't have access.  I'm an old guy that's not very technical and am highly frustrated.  MC29 works...I've tried to run the MC32.exe with it open and closed.  What could I be doing wrong?  Sorry to be a pest.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2024, 06:41:49 pm »

It's no trouble.  Is Windows 32 bit or 64 bit.  It's in Control Panel > System.

But if they don't run, it's probably an antivirus problem.  Update Defender.

Logged

MTDan65

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2024, 02:51:52 pm »

I bought MC 32 upgrade for MC 26. I downloaded MC32. I double clicked on download. I got a warning from windows Defender. I selected "Run Anyway". At this point nothing happens. I can't find the MC 32 anywhere. What am I doing wrong? Can it take a long time to "run" if I have lots of files?
Logged

MTDan65

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2024, 03:14:35 pm »

OK I downloaded MC32 and ran the file. Got warning from Defender and clicked "run anyway". I updated Defender. I turned off all my anti virus software. Now I have a new download file that says "your license is for a different product" It never asked me for the new license code?? Still no MC32. I am not a younger guy. I have some computer knowledge, but mostly basic stuff. What do I do? I don't even know how you'll answer me. Will I get an email notification to link back here?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2024, 03:40:13 pm »

Did you install MC32 after downloading?  It is probably in your Downloads folder.
Logged

nessuno

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #21 on: Yesterday at 12:39:16 pm »

Trying to upgrade from MC24 to MC32, but the installer won't run.

I have tried with and without the relevant tasks in Norton Antivirus running, and after reinstalling Windows 11.  Nothing related was found in the Norton logs, but I see the following message in Event Viewer every time I try:

     Activation for Microsoft.Windows.Apprep.ChxApp_cw5n1h2txyewy!App failed. Error code: Class not registered.
     Activation phase: No phase defined
   
The message appears in Applications and Services Logs > Microsoft > Windows > Apps > Microsoft-Windows-TWinUI/Operational.  The Event ID is 5961; I am finding a number of web posts about this ID, but nothing helpful in this situation.

Anybody else have this problem?



Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #22 on: Yesterday at 12:55:11 pm »

Update Windows Defender definitions.

Uninstall Norton.  Use only Defender.

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,135683.msg942277.html#msg942277
Logged

AlreadyFree

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #23 on: Yesterday at 08:18:51 pm »

I just set up a new Windows 10 system and uninstalled Internet Explorer. Now trying to install MC32 I'm getting a prompt to download Internet Explorer or exit the installer. Is Internet Explorer really a requirement to install MC32? IE is outdated software that hasn't had an update in over a year. I have the Edge Webview installed.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #24 on: Yesterday at 09:14:05 pm »

MC uses IE's engine, not IE itself.
Logged

MTDan65

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #25 on: Today at 05:06:26 pm »

Did you install MC32 after downloading?  It is probably in your Downloads folder.
I backed up my MC26. I removed MC26. I bought MC32. I got the license for MC in an email. I downloaded MC 32. I double clicked on the downloaded file. I turned off all my anti-virus programs and extensions (ad blockers etc.). I got a pop up saying the file was not signed and clicked "run anyways". MC 32 never loads? When I try to get status and/or restart the installer it says "another instance of MC32 installer is already running." I can't find that "instance" to perform any operation on. It's been "running" for 48 hours. How do I correct this problem? Can I delete the installer and try again? How do I do that? I will need step by step help. 
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71323
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Installing MC32 -- Instructions and Questions
« Reply #26 on: Today at 05:21:48 pm »

I backed up my MC26. I removed MC26. I bought MC32. I got the license for MC in an email. I downloaded MC 32. I double clicked on the downloaded file. I turned off all my anti-virus programs and extensions (ad blockers etc.). I got a pop up saying the file was not signed and clicked "run anyways".
You did the right thing, but we can't fix the problem.  Try updating Windows Defender definitions.  Don't use any other antivirus.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up