INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Center Remote available now -- $41  (Read 117163 times)

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« on: September 02, 2009, 10:55:08 am »



JRiver is now offering a Media Center Remote.

It can control JRiver Media Center (14 and above) in Theater View out of the box, but with a few minutes of setup, it can also control an amplifier or TV.

The Media Center Remote kit (with one transceiver and one emitter) is $35 plus shipping.  Please see the Purchase section for more details.

Instructions
Logged

HTPC4ME

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2759
  • LIFE IS A RADIO... CRANK IT UP TO 11!
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 10:57:07 pm »

is there an rf version?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2009, 06:35:53 am »

Maybe later.   This works fine if you're in the same room.
Logged

HTPC4ME

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2759
  • LIFE IS A RADIO... CRANK IT UP TO 11!
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2009, 10:08:49 am »

ok cool thanx
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 10:33:48 am »

jamesenjoy4now, I split your posts to a new thread here.  I have a feeling you're going to need your own thread.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2009, 02:19:52 pm »

U.S. purchases are possible now with a credit card or by Paypal.  Please see the bottom of this page:
http://wiki.jrmediacenter.com/index.php/Media_Center_Remote
Logged

globetrotters1

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2009, 03:47:26 pm »

a very good decision to offer such a remote, I'll certainly upgrade to this remote (although that means re-programming my programmable touchscreens throughout the house)

thanks
Logged

tjobbins

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2009, 07:44:36 pm »

Will the remote be able to wake a PC from standby?  And/or cause it to boot up from cold?

Also will it be possible to get it to run non-MC functions, like PC shutdown/standby, and launching and controlling other apps?

Thanks
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2009, 07:51:05 pm »

Will the remote be able to wake a PC from standby?  And/or cause it to boot up from cold?
From sleep, yes.  Not from power off.
Quote
Also will it be possible to get it to run non-MC functions, like PC shutdown/standby, and launching and controlling other apps?
PC sleep, yes.  Others, maybe.  It can learn any IR command that another remote can do.
Logged

tjobbins

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2009, 12:21:23 pm »

Others, maybe.  It can learn any IR command that another remote can do.

OK thanks.  The thing is that I don't have any other remote for Windows already.   The MC Remote will be my only PC receiver and my only PC remote.  So I'm trying to see what I can get it to do besides stuff in MC, but I don't have another PC remote system I can get it to broadcast to, so it would need to support other things natively.   I don't have many requirements, MC is mostly all I run on my HTPC.  It'd just be cool if there was generic mapping available, for example to key combos.

A couple of purchasing questions:

1. Any idea when International ordering will be enabled?
2. I want to purchase two MCE remotes, one with an extra transmitter (so three transmitters total.)   Will that be the standard $10 international shipping or will I need to pay more?

Thanks
Logged

tjobbins

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2009, 08:14:52 am »

Another question.

The Wiki entry says:

"From the first page of MC's Tools/Options/Remote Control, choose Next. You will be stepped through the process of adding the ability to control your amplifier or TV. If you don't do this, the Media Center Remote will still be able to control Media Center when in Theater View."

My query is about the the second sentence - it says "in Theater View", but surely the MC remote can control MC completely in all views, right?  I never use Theater View but I still want to be able to do play, pause, stop, next/previous etc, in any mode.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2009, 08:29:38 am »

International orders should open next week.  Once we're ready, I'll let you know here and we'll work out details.

The remote is intended for use with Theater View.  You can get an idea of the experience by using the arrow keys and the enter on a keyboard.  With those five buttons, you should be able to do anything, including Exit to Standard View or close MC or shut down the computer.

In Standard View, the remote could manage many, but not all tasks.
Logged

Diverdown1964

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • No matter where you go, there you are
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2009, 08:07:42 am »

I just ordered from Canada... hopefully that's no problem?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2009, 10:02:55 am »

The International Order Window has just opened. 
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2009, 10:12:19 am »

I just ordered from Canada... hopefully that's no problem?
Thanks for the order.  We love Canada, but I sent you an e-mail about how to fix this.
Logged

tjobbins

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2009, 03:57:22 pm »

The International Order Window has just opened. 

Thanks Jim! 

What price including international delivery for a total of two remotes, three emitters?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2009, 04:12:05 pm »

What price including international delivery for a total of two remotes, three emitters?
You have mail.
Logged

scm

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2009, 04:32:31 pm »

Does this or ANY other remote have the ability to RATE songs from 1 to 5 stars?
Logged

jkrzok

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2009, 12:23:12 am »

Got my remote today and I love it so far. It works as advertised and seems well worth the money. It adds value to both MC and my PC.

Now I finally appreciate Theater view and how it can make my media actually seem less tied to the computer in that I'm physically no longer tied to my keyboard and mouse.

While I was trying other remote options and even my wireless mouse as a remote the MC remote really does work out of the box.

Some questions though. How do I go about stopping Windows Media Center from opening when I hit the "My" and "Start" buttons? There must be a similar answer that will keep HP's dvd player closed when I click the DVD menu.

So, any thoughts about bundling MC with the remote? Perhaps even moving to selling a bricks and mortar store version of the remote and MC?

Logged

gappie

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4543
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2009, 02:14:08 am »

Does this or ANY other remote have the ability to RATE songs from 1 to 5 stars?
when it has the ability to send commands, or is recognised by mc as a remote then yes. you have to use a parameter for it like the ones here: http://wiki.jrmediacenter.com/index.php/Media_Center_Core_Commands the mcc 10023 is for rating. when you need help, better start an other thread.

 :)
gab
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #20 on: September 17, 2009, 06:43:38 am »

I'm glad to hear it's working well.

In MC Options for Theater View, there is an option to "Disable Windows Media Center...".  Try checking that.

Yes, we've thought about a package to be sold by stores.  We're still learning about this, so that's at least a few months off.

Thanks again for the positive report.
Logged

jkrzok

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #21 on: September 17, 2009, 06:54:51 pm »

...
In MC Options for Theater View, there is an option to "Disable Windows Media Center...".  Try checking that.
...

Thanks, that did the trick.

Again, let me express my appreciation for the fine product(s) the people at JRiver are putting out.

From time to time people on the boards here question the price MC is set at. I've been a happy user of MC for a number of years now and I've always thought I was getting good value for money. This was before I found a real use for the theater view. It was just a piece of eye candy for me with no real use. But that's changed now with the addition of a remote. So what was worth the price to me before, MC 14, is even more valuable to me now. Over the years I've often found this to be the case with MC. I'll be happily plugging along with the product only to find that I've only touched upon some of its features.

There's a quote I'm about to butcher but it runs along the lines of "Quality remains long after the price is forgotten." MC is like that for me. I have no idea how much I've paid to JRiver over the years but I am impressed everyday not only with everything MC does but with how well it does it all.



Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #22 on: September 17, 2009, 07:37:24 pm »

jkrzok,
Many thanks for the very kind words.

I went looking for your quote.  It may have been from Ben Franklin, and it may have been about beer:

"The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of a low price is forgotten."
Logged

geoptin2

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #23 on: September 18, 2009, 09:01:03 am »

Hi,
I'd like to add a second emitter to my international order (hasn't been placed yet). How will I do this? I don't see any choice of adding anything extra to the standard order.
Thanks.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #24 on: September 18, 2009, 09:31:46 am »

We don't have an automated way of doing that yet, but if you send $5 by Paypal to jimh at jriver at the same time as you place your order, we'll add an extra emitter. 

If you need to do it by credit card, please call Deanna at country code 1 + 612 677 8202.

Thanks.
Logged

KingStyles

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #25 on: September 23, 2009, 07:34:42 pm »

Will the remote work straight to my laptop without the usb receiver if my laptop already has a built in remote receiver?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2009, 02:55:14 pm »

Will the remote work straight to my laptop without the usb receiver if my laptop already has a built in remote receiver?
Maybe.  There are two kinds of IR.  IRDA and (recently) RC6.  All MC remotes use RC6.

What was the IR port intended for?  Did it support a remote?

Why does it make a difference?
Logged

boydn

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2009, 03:32:03 am »

Stupid question but, will this remote also work with MCE?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2009, 06:53:33 am »

Stupid question but, will this remote also work with MCE?
Yes.  It's what it was made for.  We did a lot of work a while back to support MCE remotes.  It turns out that the remotes are often (not always) similar, but the transceivers are not.  Some of them work and some don't.  Some have ports for emitters.  Some don't.  Some are recognized by Windows and some aren't.  The one we're selling is very high quality.
Logged

dlmax63

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #29 on: September 25, 2009, 01:35:15 pm »

In looking at the image of the remote, I like the apparent functions that are available. Great work JRiver!

Is there any chance I could get a text file of the hex codes that correspond to the each of the remote commands? I could then use my pronto to try out the various commands and see if I like them enough to purchase one.
Logged
Never kick a fresh turd on a hot day!

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #30 on: September 25, 2009, 02:26:24 pm »

We can't provide hex codes.  Sorry.  You might be able to find something on another forum.  remotecentral.com has a good one and a lot of Pronto users.

It's a standard MCE remote.  Microsoft's original remote for MCE would work the same way.
Logged

Mr ChriZ

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4375
  • :-D
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #31 on: September 25, 2009, 03:13:47 pm »

Mines ordered  :)

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2009, 03:42:40 pm »

Logged

Diverdown1964

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • No matter where you go, there you are
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #33 on: September 25, 2009, 08:42:14 pm »

Got it, and love it. NOW I get theater view!

One question though. I would like to be able to press a button to set a playback zone, and have all commands following operate in that zone. I'm trying to set this up with a multi zone amplifier, and this would allow me to teach the control for each zone that when that zone's output is selected, pause, play, next etc will operate within that zone. I can't quite figure out how to do theis - Set Zone didn't appear to work the way that I expected.

Thanks
Logged

boydn

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #34 on: September 26, 2009, 12:24:01 am »

Just ordered mine.  Thanks Jim
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #35 on: September 26, 2009, 07:03:48 am »

Just ordered mine.  Thanks Jim
Thank you!
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #36 on: September 26, 2009, 07:06:30 am »

I would like to be able to press a button to set a playback zone, and have all commands following operate in that zone. I'm trying to set this up with a multi zone amplifier, and this would allow me to teach the control for each zone that when that zone's output is selected, pause, play, next etc will operate within that zone. I can't quite figure out how to do theis - Set Zone didn't appear to work the way that I expected.
If you switch zones, everything else should work.  Ctrl-T toggles zones.

You might try assigning something simple to a button to learn the process.  You first have to add a feature, and then you assign it to a key on the MC Remote.
Logged

Pjotr

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #37 on: September 29, 2009, 08:03:51 am »

Hi,

Last Friday I ordered a remote control through the international order link given here. Paid $48,- by Paypal, which is I suppose the international price including shipment? But I only got returned back a registration code by e-mail, but no further information about shipment details and so on.

What is the purpose of a registration code? Did I order another license for Media Center 14, which I have already? Or whatever?

Regards
Logged

gappie

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4543
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #38 on: September 29, 2009, 09:12:01 am »

Hi,

Last Friday I ordered a remote control through the international order link given here. Paid $48,- by Paypal, which is I suppose the international price including shipment? But I only got returned back a registration code by e-mail, but no further information at all about shipment details and so on.

Did I order another license for Media Center, which I have already? Or whatever?

Regards

interesting huh, i also got the registration code.  :o tried to use it on mc self, but it did not work. mine is on its way, (i know because there was something unclear with my adres), so i guess there is nothing to worry about. 8)

 :)
gab
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #39 on: September 29, 2009, 07:18:56 pm »

The registration code should probably be called a confirmation code in this case.

Sorry, but we're using the same payment system for both hardware and software now, and we have a few wrinkles to iron out.
Logged

Pjotr

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #40 on: October 02, 2009, 01:38:56 pm »

Thanks Jim for the clarification. Can you say something about lead-time, tracking codes and so on? Up to now I didnít receive any further information.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #41 on: October 02, 2009, 01:51:13 pm »

It should take about two weeks from the time it was ordered.  I'll check when yours was shipped.  Thanks.
Logged

Mr ChriZ

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4375
  • :-D
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #42 on: October 03, 2009, 05:43:19 am »

I was going to ask the same thing =0)

mark5d4

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2009, 05:02:34 pm »

I'll re-ask my question here so it stays with Remote discussion.

Has anyone attempted using this with an IR connecting block...say Xantech's 799-44 to control more than 2 (or 4) other devices?  What is the limit of how many commands can be learned and sent through the MC software?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #44 on: October 04, 2009, 05:41:30 pm »

I couldn't find the 799-44 when I did a quick search.  Do you have a link?

If the device is just relaying IR, then it should work.  Our remote's transceiver sends all IR blasts to both ports by default.  After that, it should be like a pinball machine, with the blast being relayed by the Xantech device.

But I think you're about to become the expert in this area.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70488
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #45 on: October 04, 2009, 06:08:31 pm »

Maybe it's the Xantech 78944.

That has an IR receiver port that I think must be an 1/8 inch mono jack.  If so, you could probably get a mono 1/8 to 1/8 cable to connect it with our transceiver.  Assuming this works, any IR blast that MC sends should be relayed to the four emitters connected to the block.
Logged

Mr ChriZ

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4375
  • :-D
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #46 on: October 05, 2009, 12:01:55 pm »

Received Thanks  :)

KingStyles

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #47 on: October 08, 2009, 10:55:33 pm »

Is there a way to disable the volume of the remote? I dont want people or myself to adjust the volume within jriver media center. I want it to stay at 100 all the time. Maybe incorporate a lock in the setting that will make the volume not respond to any input because it is really easy to bump the volume on the remote. Also when I hit next under the remote options, it tells me
You dont appear to have a Media Center receiver connected to your computer. Please connect it and try again.
It is connected and functioning properly. I want to control my amp with it but can not get by this message. I have windows vista on a hp laptop that has its own remote window that I dont even have to hook up the additional usb devise. Could that be interfering even though when the usb sensor is plugged in it seems the stock one is disabled.
Logged

Pjotr

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #48 on: October 10, 2009, 09:40:37 am »

Received Thanks  :)

Same here, thanks for the service!
Logged

Yaobing

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10780
  • Dogs of the world unite!
Re: Media Center Remote available now -- $41
« Reply #49 on: October 10, 2009, 12:39:36 pm »

Quote from: aa
谁能告诉我,这个东西强大吗 ;D

那当然! ;D

您的任何用于家庭剧院的遥控器有什么功能,我们这套设备都有。
使用这套设备,不需要任何设置或调整,您可以直接控制Media Center.  您还可以用它控制您的计算机以外的设备。通过红外发射器,您可以控制计算机外的音频放大器、机顶设备和电视机。比如您可以控释电视机、放大器等的电源开关、音量等。
Logged
Yaobing Deng, JRiver Media Center
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 ... 8   Go Up