INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: When reducing bitdepth from 64-bit to 24-bit in ASIO, does JRiver....  (Read 123860 times)

bobkatz

• World Citizen

I'm completely new to JRiver and have not yet bought the system, but I'm considering purchasing it primarily to implement digital EQ from AudioLens. The media center features (such as blu-ray playback) are secondary in importance to me.

I am an audio mastering engineer and I create and master high sample rate and high resolution material. I recognize the importance of dithering when doing any processing in, for example, my 32-bit float DAW. There is a meaningful audible improvement (albeit subtle) when I use 24-bit dither on the output of my DAW, which is available in a preference. I want to be able to hear the full resolution of my source material.

As a 64-bit engine, JRiver should not simply trucate to 24-bit on its way to a 24-bit DAC, for example. So, let's ask, does JRiver perform any dithering? Obviously you would want to turn dithering off when outputting Dolby Digital (for example) to an external decoder because the system must be bit-transparent in that case. So dithering needs to be an option, if possible, automatically switched off when playing coded material.

But for best sonic performance with the most depth and dimension, your playback system should dither to 24-bits, not simply truncate, on its output to a DAC or to an AES/EBU or SPDIF output. Is dithering built-into JRiver? If not, it should be! Is there a "last place" in the ASIO chain that I can insert a dithering plugin (independent on each channel) after all your processing, crossover, loudness, EQ and other processing?

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: When reducing bitdepth from 64-bit to 24-bit in ASIO, does JRiver....
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 11:37:46 am »