INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC 18 on Windows 8 64-bit Freezes While Playing Audio, Video OK  (Read 3916 times)

byungna

• Recent member
MC 18 on Windows 8 64-bit Freezes While Playing Audio, Video OK
« on: February 25, 2013, 07:48:40 am »

I have been running MC16 on Windows 7 for two years, using ASUS D2X audio card (along with EVGA GTX).  Recently upgraded to Windows 8 64-bit.  Then did a clean install of MC 18.  MC 18 plays video OK, but it keeps freezing while playing audio.  When it freezes, there is usually a hum which can be only stopped when PC restarts.  During the freeze, other apps can still run, including sounds, but with the hum.  Any help, I would appreciated. :(

Byung

sirkus

• World Citizen
Re: MC 18 on Windows 8 64-bit Freezes While Playing Audio, Video OK
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 04:22:49 pm »

I have to confirm that. It's very sensitive to interactions with the OS. But, I think Windows 8 is bad for real time... or too new?

glynor

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2013, 05:10:02 pm »

We need more detail.

What is Options > Audio > Output Mode set to?  For most purposes, WASAPI Event Style is what you want.
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

sirkus

• World Citizen
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2013, 05:21:20 pm »

Yep sorry, you are right. Lynx AES16 in ASIO mode. JRMark (version 18.0.136): 4510

mojave

• MC Beta Team
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2013, 05:39:45 pm »

dlbeck has reported the same issue the past couple of days here: http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=78508.0. He is also using Windows 8 64-bit.

glynor

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2013, 06:24:57 pm »