INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version  (Read 2139 times)

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« on: January 26, 2024, 03:09:42 am »

How To Purchase an Upgrade License
Please read these instructions.

Download and Install The New Version
MC32 is at the top of this board.  It's also on the Download Page.

Find Your License and Restore it
You can send yourself your licenses from the Restore Page.  Please read Restoring a License .

Moving Your Data and MC Database
When you install MC for Windows, it will find your old database, copy it and use it.  It should just work when you run it.  You can also restore your settings at the same time.

On Mac or Linux
This should be automatic now.  If necessary, you can restore a backup from a previous version.   MC makes them automatically.  Search for files ending in .zip.  Restore is under File > Library.

Backup and Restore
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Library_Backup
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Restore_a_library

Backups can contain settings and thumbnails.

What About Your Old Version?
Keep it as long as you want.  Uninstall it when you're happy with your new version.  Uninstalling doesn't affect the new version or your data.
Logged

topblues

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Upgrading to MC32 from MC31
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2024, 09:35:25 pm »

I have MC31 64bit for Windows and works great, always has. Purchased 32 awhile back, no problem.

After downloading MC32, I still have MC31 on board.  I'm told my registration is good but I check that and I'm still in MC31.   ::)  Every time I tried to retrieve MC32, I'm using up my available license downloads. 
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2024, 12:44:09 am »

Did you install MC32?  Run MC32 first, then restore your MC32 license.
Logged

topblues

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2024, 01:05:30 am »

Right, it never did install.  AntiVirus software maybe?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2024, 01:22:07 am »

Maybe.  Uninstall the antivirus it to test.  Configure Windows Defender.
Logged

topblues

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2024, 02:13:46 am »

I closed my anti-virus software and still unable to download 32. Not sure what the deal is, frustrating.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2024, 02:40:44 am »

I closed my anti-virus software and still unable to download 32. Not sure what the deal is, frustrating.
Uninstall it.
Logged

topblues

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2024, 02:43:21 am »

Alrighty then, I have Microsoft Edge and Chrome browsers.  For some strange reason I was not able to download 32 in my Chrome browser.  I switched up to Edge and it worked.  Not sure why but all is well.  Thanks for your time and expertise Jim.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2024, 03:26:25 am »

Still could be antivirus.  What is the antivirus software?
Logged

red90

  • Regular Member
  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2024, 07:17:52 am »

What is always a pain in the upgrades is that it does not remove the previous version.  You end up with both trying to run at the same time.  Maybe an option to uninstall the previous version would be a good idea.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2024, 09:32:28 am »

What is always a pain in the upgrades is that it does not remove the previous version.  You end up with both trying to run at the same time.  Maybe an option to uninstall the previous version would be a good idea.
My own opinion is that doing so could be risky.  I'd rather have users make the decision after they're sure everything works.  If we make it too easy, some people may do it and regret it.

It's pretty easy to uninstall the old version, as it is now.
Logged

topblues

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2024, 03:48:33 pm »

AntiVirus Malwarebytes, also CCleaner & Windows Security.  I thought I needed 31 installed to upgrade to 32.
Although, when trying to download 32 using Chrome, I had shut down my antivirus completely.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71465
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Moving to MC32 from an Older Version
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2024, 02:09:31 am »

AntiVirus-Malwarebytes, also CCleaner & Windows Security.  I thought I needed 31 installed to upgrade to 32.
Although, when trying to download 32 using Chrome, I had shut down my antivirus completely, still no help there.
Use only Windows Defender for antivirus.

You don't have to install MC31 to upgrade to MC32.  MC32 can find older library backups.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up